top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

Track team preps for conference championship

The Central State University men’s and women’s track and field teams are heading to the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Championship April 18-20, 2019, in Rock Hill, South Carolina. The team has high hopes for placing well at the conference championship.

“I’m pretty confident that we will do well. It’s going to be very good competition there. Hopefully we will get in the top three,” Head Coach James Rollins said.

Rollins said Central State’s main competition will be Benedict College and Morehouse University. “Not to sleep on anyone else, but from the outlook, those two teams (are tough),” he said.

Junior hurdler Juan Scott, who won a national title in 2017, is confident about his chances in the meet. “All of my preparation -- from training, to recovery, to eating, and to resting -- that I’ve been doing all year has led up to this point,” he said. “It’s just time to let it all show.”

Scott broke a school recored in the 110 meter high hurdles two years ago, beating Coach Rollins old record at Central State

“My main preparation for championship meets is my mental focus. I just have to get myself mentally prepared for big meets,” Scott said.

Junior Krystal Mitchell, defending conference champion in the women’s 100 meter dash, is looking forward to facing new competition at the meet. “I feel more than ready to compete and defend my title,” she said.

The conference championship is a stepping stone to earn a spot at the national meet in late May. Heading into the championship, Mitchell feels a lot of pressure.

“I do feel some pressure, only because this year I’m defending my 100m dash title, and I have some competition in the 200m dash which is where I fell short last year,” Mitchell said.


Editors Note: The Marauder women place fourth in the team competition. The men placed third. Juan Scott successfully defended his title in the 110 meter hurdles.


By Aysia Prewitt-Tuff


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Will CSU add more sports?

Central State University has announced that it will soon have a men’s volleyball team. That announcement has some people wondering whether the university will add additional sport programs in the futu

Bobby Rome is new football coach

Central State University’s football team began a new chapter Feb. 21, 2020, naming Bobby Rome II as the program’s new head football coach. “I’m very honored,” Rome said. “It’s like a dream come true.”

CSU set to hire new football coach

Central State University will soon hire a new football coach. “We are coming to a close on who will be our next football Head Coach,” said Charity Townes, the administrative coordinator of Athletics.

bottom of page