top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

King and Queen elected

Central State University seniors Whitney Childers and Takell Lawson were elected Homecoming King and Queen Sept. 26, 2019.

“I feel like I deserved it,” Childers said. “I really put my all into campaigning.”

A Cleveland native, Childers is a criminal justic major. She has a 3.2 grade point average and has been on the dean’s list four years in a row. “I’ve accomplished everything I wanted to do in college so far,” she said.

Takell Lawson is also from Cleveland. He’s studying psychology at Central State. Lawson said that he got into the Homecoming race late and only had one day to campaign. “I gave out ice cream and cookies outside the café, so people would know I was running, and posted flyers on social media. That proved to be enough,” Lawson said.

Childers had more time to campaign. She posted flyers and banners, and passed out fresh donuts and juice. “One day I hosted a movie night,” she said. “We watched ATL, and I provided pizza and drinks.”

Lawson said that if you are interested in running for the Homecoming Court you should plan your campaign in advance. “If you know it’s something you want to do, have a slogan, events, flyers -- anything you can think of -- thought out and on paper, so that you can easily get the things you want to do, done, with no hassle,” he said.


By Zaria Brown

Contributing Writer

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New gym opens on campus

Central State University has opened a new gym on the first floor of the recently opened Marauder Community Residence Hall. The gym opened Feb. 21, 2020. It includes a workout area and a dance studio.

Senior Salute March 6

It’s that time of the year Marauders! The annual Senior Salute is March 6, 2020. “I’m excited to just be around my class and take in the moment,” senior Erinn Pope said. “It makes me proud.” Senior Sa

Career Fair March 11

It’s that time of year again. The Spring 2020 Career Fair is just weeks away. Central State students will soon have the opportunity to meet employers from throughout the region. “It’s a huge networkin

bottom of page