top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

Infinite possibilities for recruits

Central State University is working with Infinite Scholars to bring more students to campus. The university sent an admissions officer to Pennsylvania Oct. 4, 2019, to attend a college fair sponsored by the group.

“I received 180 applications this year, which was way more than we have received from this area at one time,” Admissions Officer Amanda McCombs said.

The Infinite Scholars program is a nonprofit organization founded in 2003 by Thomas “T” Ousley. It works to see that all deserving students have money for college.

“We achieve this through our scholarship fairs which are designed to help high school students learn about scholarship opportunities and other funding options directly from recruiters.” the program explains on its website. “Our Promise Program works with students in elementary, middle, and high school to prepare them to receive the best possible admission and scholarship offers.”

A week after McCombs visited Pennsylvania, about 15 Infinite Scholars came to Central State for a campus tour. “I have given many tours to the Infinite Scholars,” CSU tour guide Raquille Sands said. “Their students are very eager when they are on the tours and always represent the program well. I've never connected with group on a tour like this.”

A Central State freshman came to campus last year as an Infinite Scholar. “I'm excited that the program and Central State are getting more students like my friends and others from the neighborhood that I know,” the young man said.

The first year students said that Infinite Scholars helped him to decide to attend college and not just any college but a historically black university. “What the program did for me was to help me make a better life decision like coming to college,” he said. “I'm so glad they came again this year, because I got the chance to share my experience .”


By Marquez Reddick

Contributing Writer

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New gym opens on campus

Central State University has opened a new gym on the first floor of the recently opened Marauder Community Residence Hall. The gym opened Feb. 21, 2020. It includes a workout area and a dance studio.

Senior Salute March 6

It’s that time of the year Marauders! The annual Senior Salute is March 6, 2020. “I’m excited to just be around my class and take in the moment,” senior Erinn Pope said. “It makes me proud.” Senior Sa

Career Fair March 11

It’s that time of year again. The Spring 2020 Career Fair is just weeks away. Central State students will soon have the opportunity to meet employers from throughout the region. “It’s a huge networkin

bottom of page