top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

Hip Hop Awards entertain

Hundreds of students jammed Paul Robeson Auditorium April 8, 2019, for the university’s annual Hip Hop Awards, sponsored by the Family Community and Leadership in Action group.

“I was so surprised to see that this was a sold out event,” the FCLA president said. “Everybody in my organization worked so hard for this day.”

More than 15 students lip-synced popular songs during the award ceremony. Junior Deja Hendricks performed as singer and R&B artist Aaliyah. She performed five of Aliyah’s songs. “I’m really glad I was able to perform as Aaliyah,” Hendricks said. “She’s always been my favorite singer, and I know all her songs. Last year I was Beyoncé but I enjoyed being Aaliyah better.” Hendricks said that she rehearsed her performance for two months to ensure that her choreography was just right.

Audience members loved the show. “I really enjoyed the show. All the performers did a good job,” student Kennedy Fields said. Fields said she especially enjoyed host Bria “Bri the Bull” Spaulding who kept the crowd entertained.


By Asia Jackson

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

First ever dance showcase

The first dance showcase hosted by the Central State University Dancing Belles will occur March 26, 2020, in the Paul Robeson Cultural and Performing Arts Center at 7 p.m. The showcase will feature s

Where is the drumline?

Central State’s pep band has performed at most of this year’s basketball games, but its popular drum line has been missing in action. The pep band now features a single drum set. “I was looking forwar

Young, gifted, and black

“To be or not to be. That is the question.” Wait a minute. That’s not right. “To be Young, Gifted and Black” that is the upcoming theatre production at Central State University. “Expect a good exper

bottom of page