top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

AirPods are all the rage

Updated: Mar 4, 2020

The new Apple AirPods are a sensation on campus. “I cannot leave my dorm room without my AirPods,” said Jalonda Sly, a freshman at Central State University. “I need my music throughout the day.”

Apple AirPods are wireless earbuds that connect to iPhones, Apple Watches, iPads, and Mac computers through Bluetooth technology. AirPods are powered with an Apple H1 headphone chip and come with a wireless charging case. Users can get three hours of listening time after just fifteen minutes of charging. “I wouldn’t change anything about my AirPods,” student Alauna Jones said. “The AirPods charge fast. They are very efficient.”

AirPods have optical sensors and motion accelerometers that detect when the product is in the ear. To change songs, users simply double-tap the AirPods.

The first generation of AirPods was released on Dec. 13, 2016. The second generation of AirPods, which included the portable charging case, was released on March 20, 2019.

Apple released AirPods Pro on Oct. 30, 2019. These AirPods offer an hour of playtime after just five minutes of charging. “Since the AirPods Pro came out, I feel like my AirPods’ sound quality is poor,” student Tenia Squires said.


By Aariana Holmes

Contributing Writer

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New gym opens on campus

Central State University has opened a new gym on the first floor of the recently opened Marauder Community Residence Hall. The gym opened Feb. 21, 2020. It includes a workout area and a dance studio.

Senior Salute March 6

It’s that time of the year Marauders! The annual Senior Salute is March 6, 2020. “I’m excited to just be around my class and take in the moment,” senior Erinn Pope said. “It makes me proud.” Senior Sa

Career Fair March 11

It’s that time of year again. The Spring 2020 Career Fair is just weeks away. Central State students will soon have the opportunity to meet employers from throughout the region. “It’s a huge networkin

bottom of page