top of page
  • Gold Torch Writer

OPINION: The death of Kobe

To me, the death of Kobe Bryant represents the loss of a beloved sports personality. He was an individual whom I very much respected and admired because of his God-given talent and intelligence as well as the self-knowledge and wisdom he acquired through experience.

Kobe was an American icon, an image and symbol that captured the spirit and passion of an age and a generation. Kobe was an athlete whose extraordinary talent and commitment to excellence placed him in the company of the best and the brightest to ever play professional basketball. Kobe was a celebrity whose accomplishments and success transcended the sport of basketball. Kobe was a man whose maturation and transformation made his a persona for adulation and emulation.

I did not know Kobe personally, but I experienced his passing personally. It was as if a very important person who was a very important part of my world had suddenly ceased to exist. I had always regarded bereavement to be a personal situation; grief and mourning I believed were meant to be private conditions and activities. However, the public response to Kobe’s passing, the outpouring of heartfelt sympathy and condolence, the tributes and accolades, the shrines and memorials, transformed the terrible, horrible tragedy of Kobe’s death into a beautiful, wonderful celebration of Kobe’s life.

For me, the public response to Kobe’s passing also made the pain of his loss more bearable and manageable. Tears became expressions of empathy; flowers became symbols of solidarity. And photographs of him and his beautiful daughter Gianna became images of love and joy and happiness. I could not long remain saddened and depressed, not to mention forlorn and morose, in such an atmosphere of faith and such a climate of compassion.

There were also solace and consolation to be found in the knowledge that Kobe’s death was the result of an accident, an occasion of misfortune, not an unspeakable crime or an inscrutable mystery. Anyone might have an accident, and no one is immune to the repercussions and consequences of misfortune. I imagined that Kobe died with Gigi in his arms, and such a vision inspired the wish that in the hour of my death, I might likewise pass in the company of family.

A biographical documentary called Muse, countless interviews, newspaper stories, and magazine articles witness and testify to Kobe’s truth and his legend. Perhaps his homage to his art, craft, and sport entitled Dear Basketball epitomizes Kobe’s character and caritas.

To his fans and admirers, as well as his critics and detractors, Kobe left a legacy, not merely a vacancy. He bequeathed to us his spirit and humanity, his talent and intelligence, and his energy and vitality. We also remembered him for his authenticity, loyalty, and generosity. I personally admired Kobe’s style. He was a classy Black dude who sported and deported himself with dignity and urbanity as well as creativity and frivolity.

In terms of his haberdashery, Kobe had a GQ IQ. He was always fashionably and impeccably well-dressed. He rocked everything he wore from sweat suits to tuxedos and all the accessories and accoutrements for any occasion. He was always on top of his game.

My observation of his interaction with others revealed him to be genuinely, effortlessly suave and debonair. Kobe was a cool Black dude. I really admired his savoir faire. He deported himself with the insouciance and nonchalance of a potentate, who had mastered himself and captured the power of compassion and humility.

Kobe impressed me as being a man who had discovered the joy of life in all its beauty, truth, and goodness. He also appeared to possess a delightful sense of humor. I would like to have had Kobe as a friend because I saw in him a kindred spirit.

Perhaps it is ironic to imagine that I could be enlightened and empowered by the passing of a superstar. How could I possibly be enriched by such a loss? Death usually left me replete with questions and bereft of answers. In its aftermath, I often searched for a panacea for the pain and an alembic for the loneliness. However, Kobe’s passing enhanced my appreciation of his vicarious sojourn with me.

His passing enabled me to confront my own mortality with patience and confidence. Kobe’s passing motivated and inspired me to invest in my personal relationships more meaning and commitment. Ultimately as a result of Kobe’s passing, I became better equipped to live my life with power and passion and purpose. Thankfully, that is the prospect and promise that Kobe’s passing held for me.


By Benjamin McKeever

Contributing Writer

Feb. 10, 2020

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Finding a new home at Central

Before becoming a Central State Marauder, Tyree Watson was a shy, hesitant young man longing to find a a place where he felt welcomed. Watson grew up on the south side of Chicago, Illinois, a place he

City mice come to the country

Central State University draws a of students from cities in the Midwest such as Indianapolis, Detroit, and Chicago. Students from these cities sometimes struggle to adapt to small town life in Wilberf

Do you like chitlins?

Apples, beets, seafood, and chitlins. Did that make you hungry? Well, if you are like many of the 50 people this reporter surveyed about their favorite foods, then no, it did not. “I hate apples. I wi

bottom of page